Job Hunting

Photo Via: Abstract Magdalene

Oh good old college life. Today I went out on the dreaded, but necessary job hunt. I tried my best to steer clear of fast food joints, I am over that part of my life. I am looking for a job that I can work a few days a week for a few hours, but not too late. The typical college job, so I am in hopes that they are flexible. Since I am just not the typical college student, I also play a sport, which does take up a majority of my time. I am just wanting to find a job that will bring in some income to get me through week by week. I have had a job since I was 15, and rarely every ask my parents for money. They are helping me for the moment to get through college, but I know that it won’t last for long. Now, that is what brings me to my job hunt. I must find an ideal college job.

I made my stops at Barns and Noble, Target, Starbucks, The Card Factory, and Hobby Lobby. I am double crossing my fingers for Hobby Lobby, because I don’t know about you, but I sure do love Hobby Lobby. I can go in there looking for absolutely nothing in particular, but come out with loads of new finds. The most entertaining: TJ Maxx.

I was waiting in line when a fight busted out between an older woman and a younger mom, who had her child with her. Both women were standing behind me while I waited for the clerk hand me an application. All of a sudden the young mother began screaming at the top of her lungs, accusing the older woman of calling her child a name. The older woman, who looked taken aback and terrified, denied such accusations. Still, the mother would not let down and continue to raise her tone and grow angry. Finally the young mother excused herself, and I quote, “I gotta get out of here before I hit this old ass ugly bitch in the face.” She bolted out of the store, leaving her friend behind to clean up the mess. The friend then began yelling at the older woman. My heart went out to the older woman, but I needed to get out of there. The clerks were fleeing to break up the argument like a swat team, while I hurriedly slipped out the door.

That was the most exciting job hunt I had ever been on.

Wish me luck on getting a job down here at the new school!

Tags: , ,

2 Comments to “Job Hunting”

  1. Good Luck!
    Although I enjoyed when you worked at Penn Station…

  2. That fight is mortifying!!!! There are some crazy people out there

Leave a Reply

